Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Interesting Light Year Facts & Other Fun Facts

IMPORTANT INFO: THIS IS ALL FIGURED USING THE DEFINITION OF "YEAR" THAT STATES THAT EACH YEAR IS 365 DAYS. THE ASTRONOMICAL DEFINITION(EXACT DEFINITION) IS STATED AND USED LATER ON IN THE POST.

the equation:
speed of light= 300,000 km/s
seconds in a year= 31,536,000
inches in a kilometer= 39,370.0787

300,000 x 31,536,000= km/year= 9,460,800,000,000
km/year x 39,370.0787(inches in km)= 372,472,441,000,000,000


therefore, there are 372,472,441,000,000,000 inches in a light year
31,039,370,100,000,000 feet in a light year
10,346,456,700,000,000 yards in a light year
103,464,567,000,000 football fields in a light year
5,878,668,580,000 miles in a light year
224,216,203,000 marathons in a light year
2,630,276,770 Tour de France's* in a light year
236,076,412 stretched out Earth's(circumferences) in a light year

*when using the 2,235 mile layout


keep in mind that there are two different definitions of a year...there is the calendar year, which is simply 365 days, and there is an astronomical year which is 365 days, 5 hours, 48 minutes, and 46 seconds long...the astronomical one being more exact because it represents the time between one vernal equinox and the next...which is our calendar year, roughly...we make up for this when we have a leap year every four years...but considering that, we actually have "made up for" more time than we have "lost" since we started using leap years...the "exact date" and "time" are actually completely unknown because of this...we really are a mess...scientifically speaking, we can never really be late, early, or on time to anywhere considering these variables......another fun fact: each day is 1.93424658 seconds too short during a non-leap year...that means that each "second" is .0000223871132 seconds too short during a non-leap year...insane, right?!


*when using the 2,235 mile layout


special thanks to Google for providing a handy online calculator for all the figuring of the many equations used for this post

Saturday, June 6, 2009

A Graph Jam Of Mine


dont mind the video...just listen...this is the only way i could get Wet Sand on here...ENJOY

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Great Rock Ablazing

Once upon 6:30 PM, while I pondered, thought on my problem,
Over many different choices, I finally get a song playing,
While I rhythmically tapped, with nearly smacks, the sounds of the axe
as of heavy zaps, zaps of great rock ablazing,
"The Experience," I uttered, "A 3-minute gap of Purple Hazing,
all this and nothing's fading."
Ah, the legendary voice, always made for a great choice,
And each separate noise sent me closer to dazing,
Imaginarily I strummed the solo, with the air guitar I bestow,
The sweet sounds surround and flow, the flow keeps me clinging,
For now the haze has begun moving, so for now you should be excusing,
cuz for now, it's the sky I'm kissing.


hopefully you realized where the inspiration for this came from...but if not...
it came from Jimi Hendrix, moreover, Purple Haze, a popular song by him...the last couple lines refer to my favorite lyric in the song, "excuse me while I kiss the sky"...I love it

the poem has the same rhyme scheme as "The Raven" by Edgar Allen Poe...it was an assignment for American Literature and Composition...thats a mouthful i know

Sunday, January 4, 2009

Bullying New Year's

Hey all, back again...i havent posted since last year!!(it sounds so dramatic) as u may have heard, January 1st ran around the corner a few days ago("only a few laps to go")...the big celebration in times square occurred and was, yet again, uneventful at best(new yorker:"what is this big ball doing in my yard?!")...i mean, really, the same thing happens every new year: mostly crappy bands and music artists pull their lil concert fiasco, the interviewers talk to some random people and/or celebrities(aka "drunk people on television"...can we get a TV14 rating on this extravaganza?), people act merry, people develop harshly optimistic views("OOO we'll be able to divide by zero in 2009!!! finally!!!", au contrare mademoiselle, that dream will never become reality), people set goals("so instead of 14 bags of chips a day, im only going to eat...12! thus losing weight!"...about that...), calendars are flipped("i hate the January puppy *sigh*"), we let some crystal ball decide what time we prominently celebrate("10, 9, 8, 7, oh wait, dang it, it's going back up to the top, false alarm everybody!"), and some 16 year old writes a blog post a few days later("who does that?")...
what id really like to speak about, with some integrity, is that darn ball they "drop" in times square at the said time of "midnight"...its really a very uncataclysmic thing...all it does is tap the bottom of the pole(what is it a stripper?) and light up...if nobody was screaming or counting down loudly, then we would all look at each other like,"wait, THATS what we came here for?!...i want my money back...no no...i want my YEAR back!!"...what the developers of the new years ball(new years ball makers incorporated(NYBMI)..."i hear their stock is doing well...") need is a lil hint from Alfred Nobel...who is he u may ask?...well my child, he is the inventor of
...DYNAMITE!!!...yes, the same dynamite of which the popular onomatopoeia, "Ka-Boom!", is contrived(just in case u got it mixed up with the much more general explosion, referring to "Boom!")...the first time i ever saw the prestigious crystal ball going down i just saw it sparkle and i heard the people counting down and the mood in the room just seemed to rise and rise as the ball lowered and lowered...and once it got down real close to the bottom i prepared myself for its dramatic conclusion of course...i mean, one can only assume that after putting an inanimate crystalline object through such rigorous travel and such demanding deadlines, that the object would simply combust in glorious celebration and shoot out flashing lights of happiness and maybe muster 365 days to come till the next party("its just so hard to find a time thats good for EVERYBODY u know?")...(the rest of this blog entry was written on February 3rd...over a month after New Year's...im lazy i know) so how about that Super Bowl? that was pretty crazy right?...well first off, i must state that i was rooting for the Cards(and the Cardinals) to pull out the win in this game...and it woulda been great if they did...b/c they were the underdog, and mostly b/c the team im rooting for never wins the big game...thats right, i wasn't even pulling for the Patriots all those years they won it(and now im a Pats fan...now that they arent in a Super Bowl...put me out of my misery)...so while i was watching the final minutes of the game and saw Arizona take the lead, i knew for sure that the Steelmen were going to go down and score even if every one of their players had no arms, legs, or a head(those are some tough torsos lemme tell ya)...and thats exactly what happened...minus the like quintuple-plegic part...and another great part of the big game is the extremely expensive ads made for it...there are always memorable ads...this year, a big deal seemed to be that whole 3D experience thing...which really ended up being kind of a jip b/c only a couple things were really really 3D(that ball on the things paddle popped out...and thats really it)...another one thats always been memorable ever since about 2005, is the GoDaddy.com commercials(usually featuring women with ridiculously large friends on their chest...approval rating of males is reported to be around 827%...) and i must say, they know how to get people to their website to register cheap domain names, crazy...one that i thought was just wonderful, was the Miller Lite High Life commercial...which was only one second long...in a commercial prior to the game they released a commercial with their man who delivers and takes peoples High Life privileges talking about how expensive Super Bowl ad time is...and then claiming that they should just do a one second commercial...and they did just that...the screen was black for a second and then u saw the delivery guy just saying "High Life"...it was wonderful in my opinion...and another great thing from the game was after it was over...cuz there was a one-hour episode of The Office on, which was an amazing episode...so uh, sorry about the huge delay for this post(like i really care)...well i gotta get back to Study Hall, were really busy taking a test of Chapter 36: Sitting Around Looking Busy...having trouble with #89 so i better get!...


"i don't necessarily think "outside the box"...i just have loads of crazy fun times inside my own"-Me


(*i join the entusiastic New Years At Times Square Committee*)