Sunday, January 4, 2009

Bullying New Year's

Hey all, back again...i havent posted since last year!!(it sounds so dramatic) as u may have heard, January 1st ran around the corner a few days ago("only a few laps to go")...the big celebration in times square occurred and was, yet again, uneventful at best(new yorker:"what is this big ball doing in my yard?!")...i mean, really, the same thing happens every new year: mostly crappy bands and music artists pull their lil concert fiasco, the interviewers talk to some random people and/or celebrities(aka "drunk people on television"...can we get a TV14 rating on this extravaganza?), people act merry, people develop harshly optimistic views("OOO we'll be able to divide by zero in 2009!!! finally!!!", au contrare mademoiselle, that dream will never become reality), people set goals("so instead of 14 bags of chips a day, im only going to eat...12! thus losing weight!"...about that...), calendars are flipped("i hate the January puppy *sigh*"), we let some crystal ball decide what time we prominently celebrate("10, 9, 8, 7, oh wait, dang it, it's going back up to the top, false alarm everybody!"), and some 16 year old writes a blog post a few days later("who does that?")...
what id really like to speak about, with some integrity, is that darn ball they "drop" in times square at the said time of "midnight"...its really a very uncataclysmic thing...all it does is tap the bottom of the pole(what is it a stripper?) and light up...if nobody was screaming or counting down loudly, then we would all look at each other like,"wait, THATS what we came here for?!...i want my money back...no no...i want my YEAR back!!"...what the developers of the new years ball(new years ball makers incorporated(NYBMI)..."i hear their stock is doing well...") need is a lil hint from Alfred Nobel...who is he u may ask?...well my child, he is the inventor of
...DYNAMITE!!!...yes, the same dynamite of which the popular onomatopoeia, "Ka-Boom!", is contrived(just in case u got it mixed up with the much more general explosion, referring to "Boom!")...the first time i ever saw the prestigious crystal ball going down i just saw it sparkle and i heard the people counting down and the mood in the room just seemed to rise and rise as the ball lowered and lowered...and once it got down real close to the bottom i prepared myself for its dramatic conclusion of course...i mean, one can only assume that after putting an inanimate crystalline object through such rigorous travel and such demanding deadlines, that the object would simply combust in glorious celebration and shoot out flashing lights of happiness and maybe muster 365 days to come till the next party("its just so hard to find a time thats good for EVERYBODY u know?")...(the rest of this blog entry was written on February 3rd...over a month after New Year's...im lazy i know) so how about that Super Bowl? that was pretty crazy right?...well first off, i must state that i was rooting for the Cards(and the Cardinals) to pull out the win in this game...and it woulda been great if they did...b/c they were the underdog, and mostly b/c the team im rooting for never wins the big game...thats right, i wasn't even pulling for the Patriots all those years they won it(and now im a Pats fan...now that they arent in a Super Bowl...put me out of my misery)...so while i was watching the final minutes of the game and saw Arizona take the lead, i knew for sure that the Steelmen were going to go down and score even if every one of their players had no arms, legs, or a head(those are some tough torsos lemme tell ya)...and thats exactly what happened...minus the like quintuple-plegic part...and another great part of the big game is the extremely expensive ads made for it...there are always memorable ads...this year, a big deal seemed to be that whole 3D experience thing...which really ended up being kind of a jip b/c only a couple things were really really 3D(that ball on the things paddle popped out...and thats really it)...another one thats always been memorable ever since about 2005, is the GoDaddy.com commercials(usually featuring women with ridiculously large friends on their chest...approval rating of males is reported to be around 827%...) and i must say, they know how to get people to their website to register cheap domain names, crazy...one that i thought was just wonderful, was the Miller Lite High Life commercial...which was only one second long...in a commercial prior to the game they released a commercial with their man who delivers and takes peoples High Life privileges talking about how expensive Super Bowl ad time is...and then claiming that they should just do a one second commercial...and they did just that...the screen was black for a second and then u saw the delivery guy just saying "High Life"...it was wonderful in my opinion...and another great thing from the game was after it was over...cuz there was a one-hour episode of The Office on, which was an amazing episode...so uh, sorry about the huge delay for this post(like i really care)...well i gotta get back to Study Hall, were really busy taking a test of Chapter 36: Sitting Around Looking Busy...having trouble with #89 so i better get!...


"i don't necessarily think "outside the box"...i just have loads of crazy fun times inside my own"-Me


(*i join the entusiastic New Years At Times Square Committee*)